You can subscribe to receive information about future events suitable for novices here: Subscribe

DVO Members

Register here to view the members only area of the website.

Mapping Data

This website contains mapping data licensed from the Ordnance Survey with the permission of the Controller of Her Majesty’s Stationery Office © Crown Copyright 2011. All rights reserved. Licence Number 100005988

2021 DVO Awards and Trophies presentation at Postensplain 

Since we weren’t able to present trophies at the Annual Dinner, due to a Covid-cancellation, these awards were presented sheltering from the wind and rain at the Postenplain CompassSport Cup event on 13/02.

Orienteer of the Year
Rachel Duckworth for her selection to represent Great Britain at the European Youth Orienteering Championships in Lithuania (Aug), and in the Junior World Orienteering Championship in Turkey (Sept, but both cancelled). Rachel is a member of GB Development Squad, and won the Green course and Women’s Golden Boot award at the 2021 CompassSport Final at Tankesley.

David Parkin Helping Hands Trophy (for long-service to the Club)
Graham Johnson has had many roles over the years: previous Newstrack editor (Feb 1995–Sept 2004), Club Captain (2016–19), Control Collection Team Leader and course planner. Graham looked appropriately surprised at the presentation!

Most Enthusiastic Newcomer
Darren Cook has recently joined DVO from Saxons OC and scored for us on Short Brown at the CSCup Final at Tankersley. Darren has offered to coach and plan, and has collected controls.

Most Improved Orienteer
Awarded to Amanda Price for her runs at Chinley Churn, Kedleston, Tankersley and Hardwick; the Great North Run training paid off! (And she makes excellent Italian biscuits!)

Newstrack Contributor of the Year
Graham Johnson for articles in July about the Strava running ‘artist’ from San Francisco Lennie Maughan and September about his and Val’s trip to the French 5 days in the Jura.

Club Champs Trophies, awarded for runs at Tankersley last October

Richard Parkin – fastest man – Peter Bourne Trophy 

Sally Calland – fastest woman – Karen Jackson Trophy

Rachel Duckworth – fastest junior – Lithuanian Trophy 

Andy Middleton – winning man – Chris Yardley Trophy 

Kim Buxton – winning woman – Judy Buckley Trophy

Leave a Reply